A new feature of WhatsApp will be rolled out by WhatsApp soon. This new feature of WhatsApp will be known as “Disappearing Message“. When this new feature of WhatsApp is turned ON, then WhatsApp chat will automatically be deleted within 7 days.
So lets know how this WhatsApp Disappearing Message Feature will work.
According to WhatsApp, if a user doesn’t open WhatsApp for 7 days, then the sent messages will disappear. Meaning again & again users will not have to delete the messages which he/she wants to delete.
This latest feature of WhatsApp will be rolled out on both Android & iOS platforms soon. Apart from the personal chat, it will also be supported in group chat as well.
How to Enable Disappearing Messages Feature?
1. First of all, open the WhatsApp chat in WhatsApp.
2. Tap on the Contact’s name
3. Then click on Disappearing Messages option
4. After that, if prompted, tap on continue & select ON.
That’s it, now you have successfully enabled the disappearing message feature on WhatsApp.
How to Disable Disappearing Messages Feature?
1. Similarly, Open the WhatsApp chat
2. Then click on the Contact’s name
3. After that, tap on Disappearing Messages option within WhatsApp.
4. Now, if prompted, tap on continue to proceed & select OFF.
After this, your disappearing message feature of WhatsApp will be disabled.
What’s So Special about this feature?
Using WhatsApp Disappearing Message Feature, users will be able to send messages for a limited time period. Meaning that messages sent to any person will be automatically deleted according to a set time, only if you do not set the time period. But if you leave the message on, then the chat will be automatically deleted after a maximum of 7 days.
WhatsApp preview message will not be deleted. However, the message sent before the change in the setting of WhatsApp Disappearing Message will not be deleted.
Only an admin of a WhatsApp group message can turn on a WhatsApp Disappearing Message for that group.
With WhatsApp Disappearing Message Feature turned on, not only the text messages will disappear, but the media files like photos and videos will also disappear. But if auto download is turned on in your phone then the media files will also be saved in the phone’s gallery.
You can turn off auto-download by going to WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage.